BEEF – It’s What for Dinner IF YOU KNOW YOUR PRODUCER

30 May


I stopped eating conventional red meat about 7 years ago (by conventional I mean from a producer that I cannot know, i.e. Tyson).  When mad cow disease (aka: BSE (Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy and Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease, CJD) became an issue, I decided that I did not want to have my brain turn into mush, and that I would rather not eat beef.

But I LOVE A GOOD HAMBURGER AND STEAK, so that led me on a quest to find great beef products produced by farmers and ranchers that I trusted.  Luckily, in Colorado, there are several.

In a recent article I found on Mike Callicrate’s No-Bull website, it became apparent, again, that many people in the United States are still eating and cooking meat that is subpar and even dangerous.  Being a food-snob myself, I still refuse to eat beef from even nice restaurants because they are usually not tasty and the meat comes from huge food conglomerates that use growth hormones, large amounts of antibiotics, and new drugs like Optiflex and Zilmax, which (IN MY HUMBLE OPINION) can have untested and could have unknown results on the body of a human being.

Do you ever feel like a guinea pig?  That is because if you are not becoming more aware of your food supply – YOU ARE.

Never has it been more important to be more sustainable – find ways to purchase food from local farmers and ranchers who you trust, and grow your own food.

Read more about what is happening to beef HERE!

– Tisha Casida

One Response to “BEEF – It’s What for Dinner IF YOU KNOW YOUR PRODUCER”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 11 – Health is Wealth | Casida for Congress 2012 - June 29, 2011

    […] like Aspartame, and know where you food is coming from – GET TO KNOW YOUR FARMERS, RANCHERS, and PRODUCERS.  It starts with us. This entry was posted in 200000 Liberty Lovers, […]

Leave a Reply

