The Liberty Tour – Day 5 Reflections

2 Sep

I am 28 years old – I AM the next generation of leadership.  The next generation, potentially classified as people ages 20-34, represent 20.3% of the population (U.S. Census Bureau, 2010).

The first event we were at in Las Vegas, Nevada, seemed fairly successful; although I did not see a whole lot of people who represent the next generation (maybe 10 our of several hundred).  That is partially disappointing, but also an indicator of who these event coordinators are targeting and reaching.

I am still amazed at how I am often treated as if I “don’t know anything” or that I am “inexperienced/worthless” to the cause because I am young (go ahead and argue against this, but I know what I see).  Of course not from everyone, there are people who understand that this next generation of leaders are very important to the cause, but from “the party”, oftentimes this group of voters and consumers (the next generation) are thought of as futile to reach.

I would like to argue against that throughout this journey.

Next, oftentimes at these rallies, we are “speaking to the choir” and rehashing the same old talking points.  This is such a waste of time because the people in this choir know that there are problems – if we could spend this time actually engaging in the solutions – that would make a difference.

I think I am going to make it a point to start taking every moment spent rehashing the issues and instead use this time to do something productive.  Stay tuned…

Reference:

U.S. Census Bureau. (2010).  Retrieved on September 2, 2010 from http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/STTable?_bm=y&-geo_id=01000US&-qr_name=ACS_2008_3YR_G00_S0101&-ds_name=ACS_2008_3YR_G00_

Founder of The Good American Post, Tisha T. Casida, is traveling across the country with the Liberty Bus from Liberty in America.  Join he through the adventure here at www.goodamericanpost.info.

Leave a Reply

